top of page

Day 27 TABR 2017


BROMANCE IS OVER

Sleep was had in hotel number nine of TABR 2017 for me. The second hotel to be shared in the company of MC, and fourth night shelter sharing over all . Big bad Breakfast waited for us in the lobby. Waking up early means that you get first crack at powdered eggs and yellow flavoured juice. We wrapped some food items into our bags and went to the door. I had decided that I will unleash my train from the locomotive that is Mark Croker and let him charge on. The day before, I had to push beyond comfort level to keep up with him on occasion. I wondered if his excitement to get to the finish-line was bigger than mine. Today he was putting a hard days ride into action. We gave each other a good handshake and possibly a hug and off he went. After you share an experience like this; the unspoken trust, confidence and bond that gets created will always be there. See you at the finish line buddy. The miles were to many for me to think that I could get to Yorktown in two days. Mark had different plans.

It was a hot-full sun day and after about 25 miles, I saw some picnic tables under some roofing in a grassy field. Good place to take a break and get out of the heat. As I started to eat my snacks, I felt a presence nearby and looked down to see a dog trying to lick the cracker in my hand. Friendly mutt, but clearly felt that my food was fair game. A couple of young adults came out of the nearby church and asked me if I was hungry or needed water. I happily said yes to both. Receiving charity from good people was becoming easy to accept. I was a traveler after all and most probably showing fatigue. Probably the healthiest sandwich of the whole trip was handed to me. We talked for about 15 minutes on the topic of the Appalachian Trail that you could point at up in them-there-hills just a few miles to the South. They had hiked several long section of the trail and planned more in the near future. Might have to add this trail to my bucket list. Not sure my wife would be happy to see me leave for six months on this walkabout.

LEE HWY 81

When you pass a big highway you remember that there is a whole world happening out there. Route 76 would cross over/under this Hwy at least six times today for me.

LAST CLIMB

In Lexington, I would pick-up a good size lunch before pushing towards Vesuvius. The kind people of this establishment prepared a fresh batch of coleslaw, just for me. ... more good will. Vesuvius was over 2000' steep climb with basically only trees for 28 miles until you come down the Blue ridge Parkway on the other side.

Cows on the road. These guys had found hole in the fence-line and where enjoying some road side grass.

SEA!!!!

I could see lots of blue on my phone map. The Atlantic is just over them hills -- Exciting. I guess I am going to complete this race after all. Today's ride was solitary with only a few DOTs around.

In Vesuvius it was pretty quiet. The snow-cone place was already closed and I didn't see a single car or person as I started the four mile climb. At the top, I would be 250 miles from Yorktown. I'm going to have to push late if I am going to get to the finish line on or before Canada Day, July 1st. It was going to be a pretty sunset at the top if I can get there in time

I think most people have a snapshot of that Barn on the hi plateau. I was tempted to take shelter in it just because it looked so appealing. Crossed the path of a black bear and a dog that seamed to be traveling together. My lights were on hi beam in this dark woods and didn't know what other animals would be out there. As it got darker, I would see a few of the camp site lights deep in the woods, but I am very happy that I pushed on and came off the mountain.

BECAUSE THIS HAPPENED

Gretchen Heller Thomas & Christopher Thomas, Angels . It was like paparazzi was waiting at the bottom. I thought this was a police stop or an airport. With three bikes and car all with blinking lights, it looked like I was coming in for a landing. I would have biked right through since I had some good speed, but Gretchen shouted my name. Good thing to, because I was heading straight when I should have turned. Pulled a U-turn and went to see what all the excitement was. They were all looking for John (JR). Lochie and Clay where there as well and were wondering where he had gone. I hand't seen him on my decent. That's when no other than John pops up from the tall grass 15 feet away. He apparently was washing his teeth before bedding down for the night. lol He was wondering what all the noise on the road was about. It was after 2300 hrs and getting some sleep was my priority. That's when Gretchen and Christopher suggest that we go to the "Bike Lady House" which was barely a mile away on the outskirts of Afton. I was still not sure what they were talking about. It had been a lonely day of riding so the company was well appreciated. Gretchen had a surprize for us.

AIRBNB ADD

BICYCLISTS ONLY. Over 35 years, June Curry provided food, drink, and shelter to literally tens of thousands of passing cyclists from around the world traveling the Trans America trail. June passed away in 2012, but the Bike House remains open for bicyclists making short or long journeys.

We followed Gretchen's car to the house and was greeted with walls and walls of biker paraphernalia. This place was room upon room of thousands of momentous left behind by thousands of bikers. I'm so glad that I had the opportunity to sleep a few hours on one of the couches there. A little musty and definitely rarely cleaned, but at this stage of the journey I couldn't give a darn.

Found a big plate of wholesome fresh baked cookies in the fridge and devoured about four. The three of us each picked our spot and went to sleep. John was getting his sleep, as he did 26 other time, road side under the stars.

Today I covered 166 miles, with 217 miles to Yorktown. I somehow had caught up to three riders that I hand't seen in weeks. I received good will and charity on multiple occasions and now was sleeping at one of the more famous stops on TABR . This was a good day.

bottom of page