top of page

Day 17 TABR 2017

LIKING THE FLATS OF KANSAS

The good thing about sleeping in a post office is that you get up with the first glow of the summer sun. This day would be very nice for biking. I was on my way out of Rush Center knowing that I would get to the "Oasis in the Grass Desert" Newton Bike shop, that day. The stories about this bike shop are legendary and I was looking forward to reaching this important milestone. But first, I had almost 150 miles to go on these straight roads with no less than ten 90 degree turns. It felt a little like a racer in the movie Tron. Having that early wake-up and low wind conditions on the Kansas flat roads made my arrival to Newton a quick affaire. My bike pace was close to 18 MPH for most of the day.

NEWTON BIKE SHOP

What can I say that wasn't mentioned by the other bloggers out there. This place was all I had read about and much more. James and Heather, the owners, greet you on arrival and even before you are allowed in, they have to take a selfie with you. But wait, it doesn't stop there. They give you shorts and t-shirt to wear as all your clothe is washed. A food room is loaded with all the good snacks you could ever want. A hot shower and a nice and dark nap room is offered. And while you are zonked out, like I was, your bike is given a good wash and tune-up

As I was stripping off my crusty clothe, I caught site of myself in a mirror. That was a strange site since I couldn't really remember when I had seen myself last. I chatted with James a bit and he noticed my cough and mentioned that many riders come through his doors having that typical cough. I thought quietly, that they certainly don't suffer from the cold that I was going through.

The team at Newton Bike shop don't sleep as bikers had been arriving at every hour of the day for about a week at this point of the race. There were about five TABR racers in the shop when I woke up from a very nice nap. Heather had leaned in after about an hour and said that there was about 45 more minutes until my bike was ready, so I slept for an extra 30 minutes.

I'm glad that my bike was almost done, other racers had arrived after me and were waiting in line for their bike servicing if they wanted it. I saw Aaron and the two Russels'. Did I mention that all of this was FREE! I bought some dog repellent spray and a few other things just to leave some sheckels behind.

John Heading out as I was arriving.

Approximately 2.5 hours after I got there, I was on my way. There was still some daylight left and after talking with Heather about destination she recommended Cassoday, pop. 129. There was a post office there and a produce store as well. (by the way, I don't think that store exists any more. Other racers couldn't find it either) The store would be closed by the time I arrived and not open when I would need to leave. Maybe today I would cross the 200 mile threshold.

I chatted with my wife during the sunset phase of my bike ride -- Always wondering how many more sunsets I would see. She was posting on facebook a daily summary of my day which was being followed by a growing crowd back home and abroad. Highlight of the day was a young cougar running alongside of me at a train crossing. There would be many trains in my immediate future.

I arrived into Cassoday around 2250 hrs and the town was very quiet. Not seen on this trackleader screen capture is Aaron's dot which was centred in the town park. So he was close buy. Should I pay him a visit, I thought. However, I was setting up in my post office hotel and didn't know if Aaron was already sleeping. I did some clean-up of my sleep spot by shaking a bucket of dust from the floor matts of the post office. These matts would offer me a little more cushion for my sleep comfort

Then, I start hearing loud ringing and stepped outside to see the train guards coming down about 100 feet down the road and then the super loud horns of the train. I took a short video of this Cacaphony. A few minutes later, Aaron decided to come and join me. I think he mentioned something about mosquitos and probably the train. And then a second train come barreling through. These trains where rumbling through this town at full speed.

In this small quiet town we would here at least three more train roars before I would sleep through the rest.

Before going to bed I took stock of my food supply. I still had a box of raisins left. Based on my map, there would be a 35 mile ride before the next resupply opportunity. I ate about half for supper and went to bed, the rest would be for breakfast in 5 hours .

I was not going to get 200 miles today, I actually only got 181. So my previous day of 195 would be my race record. This post office did not have a light switch, plugins or water. There was water however coming from an old fashion water-pump in the park. It was nice to have Aarons company.

bottom of page