top of page

Day 16 - EAST 96

This morning around 0600 hrs, I went across the dusty wind swept parking lot for breakfast at JJ's. Already there, was Mike B and the Brits. They had got stuck in Hartwell 20 miles back the night before and had taken shelter from the 30mph winds that had started that afternoon. I saw their dots stopped, before I went to bed, in the small school in Hartwell. They had tried to camp out somewhere in town and somebody called the police on them. The trooper opened the school gym for them to sleep in -- That was nice. Not sure what they did for food, but here they were this morning scarfing down a big breakfast looking a little worn out.

This would be a very flat day and another long ride all on route 96 East. The incredible winds of the previous day had subsided. I was starting the 58 mile section of 'very limited services'. And before leaving JJ's, I asked the friendly ladies in the kitchen to make me a few egg sandwiches to go and to make them as hardy as possible. The six dudes from the previous day where coming in as cheerful as always as I prepared to leave. It was time for me to get going, no time for war stories.

My big sandwiches in hand, I stored them in my bed-roll for safe keeping. Feeling that I had enough provisions for the next 12 hours, I should be able to get through the possibility that there are no stores for a while. I made pretty good time to the first gas station store at Sheridan Lake and it was open. Good thing, as I needed more cold medication and, again, new ear pieces. I was getting pretty good at self medicating and breaking ear pieces.

Today, I would finally see some economic activity as a train, of at least a mile long, moved endlessly passed me. However, the desolate empty spaces of this area of Colorado and eventually Kansas where a little disheartening.

I honestly don't have much to say about the 100's of miles I covered today as the scenery didn't change much. The solitude of the ride with a small speck of civilization every 30-40 miles blurred.

BETTER PLAN AND PREPARATION

Today's water and food situation would not be as bad as yesterday, simply due to preparation and one day of experience. Made it to Kansas State that day at about the same time as I was hitting the half way mark for the TABR. Always a big moment crossing into a new State.

The light was pretty today.

Made great distances today without seeing any other riders. And as the sun moved to the West my shadow would grow in front of me and keep me company. This shadow would be my company for many a late afternoon. And onward to Rush Center for my evening stop.

POST OFFICE

Tonight, I would up-scale my accommodations and attempt a stay in my first post office. Moving-On-Up from Bathrooms (sounds like a song). I arrived after dark and cautiously moved into the open post office. Fortunately, there was a water spout on the side of the building that I could open and do some clean-up and refile bottles. Every post office would be slightly different.

The light was on a switch that I could turn off, found an outlet inside that worked for charging stuff , and there was some bushes nearby. Basically not a bad place to stay. No visitors during the night either.

My Domane SL6 was working great for over 2000 miles -- Not one mechanical issue. Today, I was able to cover a surprizingly 195 miles. Wow a new record for me. I did't even realize this until I wrote this instalment on the blog. My cold was in full force, my patoottie was a nuclear fire ball and I was breaking new distance records. Wow, the human body is great.

bottom of page