top of page

DAY ELEVEN TABR 2017 - And now for something really hard

All the hardship and challenges from the previous ten days were literally eclipsed today. Weather, once again is boss and, hands us a bucket of misery. But, I get ahead of myself.

Waking up in Dubois, Wyoming way too early, I decided to look at my weather app. Holly cow, there is a storm coming into town with 1-2 inches of snow hitting my location in 30 minutes. Although it was 4:00, I had to get my sore patooty out of Dubois, and 15 minutes later I was on my way. Peddaling with a purpose towards the rising sun, I could see a mile back the giant storm cloud that was bringing that bad weather coming my way. I had to stay ahead of this weather all while wondering what was befalling the riders that were just a few miles back. Retrospectively, I was grateful for the early rise as it would allow me to get some extra miles downrange.

The hills and dangerous weather of barely 30 minutes earlier, became a glorious morning ride into warmer and warmer tail wind and flats. Within an hour, I was peeling off layers and looking for water. Not much civilization out here and when I did find a gas station at 0700 hrs it would be closed, so I would have to press on. Finally around 0830, four hours into my day, I found a store that sold gasoline, guns, post office, lottery, Indian wears, coffee, furs, traps, home decor and state licensing, o! and food.

WHAT A GOOD DAY

Back on the bike I needed to start thinking of what my goals would be. Everything was going really well and I would be in the town of Lander in a few hours. In Lander this town would be the first bike shop stop I would use. The bike and rider has passed the 1500 mile mark for TABR and some servicing for both would be required, I suspect. For one, I was getting some real bike shorts with the thickest padding possible.

The ride was beautiful in its wide open spaces and endless horizon of treeless sage filled tundra. There where many Pronghorn Antelops watching my bike roll by. Saw this horny toad, when I took a small break out of the wind on the backside a bluff

Finally in Lander, the bike shop was expecting me. They were DOT watchers and expected me to stop. Very nice to have a crew ready to take action on your bike and they new better than I what to look for. I ate a store bought lunch while they worked on the bike. Full bike check-up, new chain, new rear tire, LOOK cleats (only pair in the shop), lubrication and a nice cushiony bike shorts later, I paid the $270 bill. Those new bike shorts were sublime on my tenderized derriere.

The guys of Gannet Bike Shop wished me luck as they already had their eye out for the next DOT coming into town. They also warned me on the wind I was going to meet as I head out of town. And they were not kidding. If a biker from Lander Wyoming 'warns' you on wind conditions, His/Her point of reference is very different from anybody else in the country.

WHAT A BAD DAY

The wind was blowing like I have never seen before and it was mostly a crosswind. The gusts would slam into you pushing you and your bike half way into the road. On some occasions I was knocked off my bike. Now I wish my bike had skinny tires and not the deep well one's that I had. I calculate that I had almost a square foot per tire of extra side surface area. I bent my right shoulder forward to try to make my back into a sail. Being a sailer, I knew I could try to create a small lift with my back using relative wind. The trick was to have enough forward speed. While trying anything possible to cover the miles to Muddy Gap and the bike overnight stop that my map showed to be there, I would catch-up to Mark Crocker (the Australian). My back sail technique must be working. lol . Mark and I talked a little over the howling wind. Both our eyes wide open wondering what the hell was going on. This is just crazy.

Mark was a strong hill rider and he would just charge up the hills while I would take two breaks and I would lose him as he rode ahead. Arriving in Muddy Gap, as the sun was getting really low on the horizon, I found the only 'anything' that existed at this cross road. This gas station with the bike sleep trailers would be the stop for me. The road was now turning 90 degrees straight into the wind -- not hitting that tonight. Walked into the gas staton to find Mark stuffing a burrito or two into his mouth. I also gravitated to the food trough and grabbed a whole bunch of stuff (not burritos). We talked to the station manager who in his grumpy state told us the the bike trailers where not available. The wind had damaged them a few years back -- go figure. But why where they still marked on the map I was thinking with a small amount of panic setting in. I was beat. This is going to be a dangerous night if we couldn't find shelter. The night again was dropping to freezing levels. I saw a big truck pull in the station and actually thought of asking if I could get a ride out of here. The station manager showed us the derelict trailers but said we could sleep on the wind shadow side, but only outside. He warned us that the cameras would pick us up if we tried to sneak in . "wind Shadow" side was not going to work for me. I think it was at that point that Mark and I realized that we better stick together for survival sake . I wondered who would spoon who first to get through the night. Finally, the station guy said that "maybe the house down the road could let you sleep in one of their sheds" but don't tell them I said so "and by the way I'm closing". Kicked out of the gas station shop and being the only plan that might work, Mark and I rode over to the house and knocked on the door. After an eternity, an old lady opens opens the door and I let Mark, in his Australian accent, charm her for some shelter. She needed to ask her husband, whom we never saw, she came back a few minutes later and told us that we could use a really old trailer in the back. What a relief!!!

PERSPECTIVE IS EVERYTHING

While Pushing some old crap around to make space for us two, I found an old holy sleeping bag and a thin mattress. The sleeping bag had been a home for mice for a few years, but no matter. Bingo, what a score. Gave my thin emergency blanket to Mark. We finally had some time to have a short chat to finally make our acquaintance. He was born in the same city of Perth, Australia as I and presently lives 40 miles away in Philadelphia. Wow that's weird. And we and our families are good friends to this day.

Despite, the fact that we found shelter and would get rest in a safe place, deep down I was not sure how many more days like this I can take. This was much more than I had signed up for. The first serious thought that maybe this is too hard/crazy/beyond my capacity/ dangerous, crossed my mind. I better have a few calmer days ahead to help recharge my determination. Surprizingly, I was able to get 160 miles that day. The wind app showed strong winds for the next 24 hours, but there was a lull around 0300, that would have to be our window to get the F#@& out of Muddy Gap.

bottom of page