top of page

DAY EIGHT TABR 2017 - Chase The Storm

RIDE OUT OF BIG HOLE

Another nightmarish night. Could I have had an altitude sickness episode at 6200'? Woke up in the middle of the night gasping for air -- I couldn't inhale. My lungs wouldn't inflate at all. I spent half an hour trying to breathe as I felt I was going to suffocate. Was considering trying to get help but, at 0300 hrs who will answer my door knocking? I need to stop this attack some how. Splashed water on my face, nothing was stoping my gasping for air. I must have appeared like somebody having an asthma attack. This was most worrisome. Sat on the bed trying meditate calmness or something yoga-ish. Eventually after an hour or so I must have lay down to sleep the remaining hour or two of the night. Yikes, this is two nights in a row of weird sleep disorder and I had no clue how to mitigate it. Just wait and see I guess -- is that wise?

On the early morning ride out of the town of Wisdom, I would see a few bikes at the restaurant. I wasn't in the mood to talk much that morning. I needed a few solitary miles under my wheels first. Let's go to Jackson for breakfast, I told myself. As I strolled amongst the beauty of Big Hole, I though of the two riders that had gone on to Jackson the night before. Why didn't I have that drive? The cold nights worried me the most since I very foolishly did not invest in the proper kit for outside sleep in freezing temperatures. As I biked the countryside, I would pick-out possible shelters that I could have used. There were spaces between the large hay rolls in the fields, a few sheds that I probably could have sneaked into. I guess I should just trust that something would be available. However, my military background doesn't let me to leave such a critical survival point to chance. I need to toughen up!

45 MINUTES TO COOK EGGS

The view was nice for the time being as I approached Jackson for breakfast. This town was busy for a population of 38. I could have made it here last night and had a covered place to sleep. Time to trust the road and push through the days a little longer. I should have had breakfast in Wisdom-- it took 45 minutes for eggs and sausages to be served. All the riders from the night before have now passed me. Remember the blond guy from the bar the night before? He walked in wearing bike gear. He too was riding the course, all be it at his own pace and with one minor difference. He was def and mute. WOW. I cant even fathom the added complication that this condition would add to the ride. Wait!, didn't Janie meet a similar rider in TABR 2016? Yes, she did! Could this be the same guy? Maybe Janie can recognize him from DAY SEVEN pic. (once she gets her vision back from the 14 hours, 260 mile ride she did 3 Feb 2018)

STORM CHASING

After the longest breakfast in history, I was off to try to catch up to the pack that had blown by. There were nice flurry squalls at this altitude. Prefer the snow to the rain any-day, especially when it didn't accumulate. Hard to see in the picture, but there are plenty of flurries blowing.

It was fun to chase down or outrun these flurry squalls as I descended towards Dillon. But the air warmed up a little and the snow was now turning into rain.

I was in no mood to get wet in this chilly air so I raced ahead of one particular dark cloud down to Dillon and the highway #15 underpass. Now that I had good phone reception, I was talking with my son. It had been his birthday a few days earlier and I still hadn't had a chance to wish him Happy Birthday. Super nice to have that chat as I rode back to civilization into Dillon and took refuge from the rain under the highway.

Dillon offered me some fast food as I saw another group of riders go by. I was still feeling sorry for myself and not gaining on other riders was not helping. Time to pull on my boot straps. Get yourself together JJ. With a belly full of fast food, I went to my bike and started pedalling. The storm clouds had passed, they were actually looking really dark mad angry and graciously staying in front of me for the rest of the day. Stopped in Two Bridges for some snacks and bathroom break. Could have bought a bear skin at the local grocery store. Maybe sleep would be better outside with one of these.

With a nice tailwind, I was starting to catch up to those ominous clouds that luckily were still going in the same direction as I. And then I realized that probably, most of the riders that passed me that morning, were smack in the middle of this storm. Later I would find out that they were. Thank you 45 minute breakfast.

By the time I got to the western style towns of Nevada City and Virginia City the ground was very wet. These were old gold rush towns with all the history kept in its original condition. It had poured hard here, and not long ago. There was a really steep hill directly after this town and I wasn't sure if I should go for it. And not much daylight left. I could see about three dots in town at some of the many restaurants.

After filling a water bottle, in a text with my wife, I asked if I should go over the hill and head to Ennis. She said "go get it!" And I did.

And so glad that I did. Got over by sunset. At the top, I put all my layers back on as the temperature was dropping fast and I had a 11 fast mile to Ennis. But, first I needed to fall off my bike. Legs were tired and didn't unclip very well. Seat was slightly a askew which I punch back into place with only one loud crack.

Jumped back on the bike, more embarrassed than anything. Bike was fine I hope.

PLAN "C"

The decent into Ennis was fast, cold and dark. And there seemed to be a big fishing derby or something, because all the accommodations were booked. Being another night of freezing temperatures, camping was not an option for me. There were about five riders in the small town campsite.

I looked everywhere for a place to sleep, to no avail, so now plan "B". Do I keep on going? I met with Benjamin, who was also looking for accommodations. Being the hard ass that he is, he headed out of town into the night. I turned back preferring to stay in town. But first food, it was after 2200 hrs and the kitchen was closed. I looked at the waitress and said, "Is there anything left in the soup cauldron or the frier? I'll eat anything." She looked at me, and literally bolted to the kitchen. I must have looked so pitiful. If I can't sleep tonight, at least I might have some food. My hero, she came back with a big bowl of thick soup, some coleslaw and the best fries of the whole trip. And she brought me a nice beer and said it was all on the house. WOW . This was a good day after all.

Belly happy, it was time for plan "C"

My wife was worried for me and she was trying to help me find accommodations. And literally, as I pulled into the town ball field. She text me saying that "maybe at the ball field..." I approached the Lions Club park bathrooms and pulled on the bathroom door. It was unlocked and full of warm air. Survival was assured for night EIGHT. The place was super clean and I spread my bedding in the corner as fas away from the auto light sensor.

I covered 140 miles on day 8 and had caught up or passed most of the riders from that day. The competitiveness was still alive in me. I hope my sleep doesn't kill me tonight. Go Eagles!

bottom of page