top of page

DAY SEVEN - ONE week first 1000 miles

A STRANGE NIGHT WAS HAD

My first nightmare, anxiety attack or bad juju hit me in the dark hours of day seven. Never had I had such weird frightful feeling take over my body like that. Was it the pressure of moving, moving, moving, being constantly in race mode, or being in a constant terrible pain down in the nether area. I still am not sure. Probably a combination of all of it.

My clothes had dried over night and I quickly got dressed and packed everything up. Went down some slippery steps to the little lobby for breakfast. That's where I would find my race cap on the front desk with a sticky that said 'Simon'. I most have dropped it the night before. Thank you TABR rider for looking me up and saving my cap. Although, I hardly wore the cap, I felt that it needed to do the trip with me.

Second day of crappy starter food. Ate what I could while I listened to these stories from several groups of motorcyclists that were exchanging war stories (Hey! I have a story for you!).

As I was ready to jump on my bike, I realized that I was missing something. Where is my plastic ziplock back that holds my precious cash, drivers licence and my only credit/debit card. I had some cash hidden away on the bike somewhere, but no other means to withdraw any money. On second thought, I should have had a credit card hidden somewhere as well. Looked everywhere for the bag. Finally, I asked the front desk for a new key to check my room. And there it was on top of the table along with an important recharging cable. Yikes, am I feeling ok? I can't be losing things like this. My brain must be getting tired. The previous night, I had almost biked the extra miles to Missoula because it was on the map but was not part of the course. I have heard that some bikers, like David Campbell, did go there.

On the agenda today would be a big 3000'+k climb to Lost Trail Pass -- Ominous name. I hope it isn't indicative of my eventual situation. Not sure how far I would go, my strategy, or lack of, was to ride until I had to stop.

MY FIRST DOT WATCHER

As I biked out of town a DOT watcher with GoPro cycled along side and conducted an interview with me on the move. I never saw that interview. Probably I just babbled uninteresting crap. at that moment, I recalled that I had seen other bikers being interviewed this way on Facebook. But that was days ago. I guess am that far behind those happy bikers.

There is a wide bike trail out of Lolo that goes for miles and took me to my second breakfast, which was much better and friendlier. The waitress called me honey many times and would quickly enter into conversation with you on any topic -- it was a nice feeling. The sun was shinning through the large window and I didn't want to leave. The sun wouldn't shine for much longer.

There were stormy clouds crossing my path and some had rain underneath them. The ride was pleasent that forenoon with many towns and plenty of places to get provisions. As I biked between two such towns, torrential rain decended on me and I took refuge under some trees by the road.

And as the tree got soaked the drops started to get through. That's where I heard some calls and saw some people by the door of a house wave me over to them. Not only did they take me out of the rain in their house, they served me a nice hot soup and grilled cheese sandwich that they were making. Nice people in Montana --too bad that we only spend about two days in this state.

null
null

Up ahead you could see a mountain range and what I suspected to be the climb up to Lost Trail. Arriving at Sula (pop.50), which would be the last town for a while, so I better load up with supplies. First mail a postcard to Jacquelynn, apply a good lathering of Neosporin to the old keister and throw back four Advils. It would be about 40 miles before I would get to Wisdom (pop. 119). Let the hill climb begin. I found this climb took forever. Having plenty of daylight left, I decided not to break my back trying to race to the top. I got into a routine of biking five minutes and then stopping for one or two minutes. And maybe sometimes the break would be longer. Maybe the elevation is screwing with me.

IDAHO? AGAIN?

Once at the top I found myself in Idaho --Now I'm confused. What was the state I biked before Montana? I would be confused for a long time. however, I was very happy for the warm bathrooms and heated hand dryers. Placed my socks, and shoes to dry under those dryers. And gave myself a kind of birdbath in Idaho. The air was fresh up here with patches of snow, and I wanted to be dry for this section of road.

Now, today as I write this section of TABR, I see that a little thumb of Idaho comes into Montana.

All dried up, I'm ready to head to Wisdom, but first a little nap in some sunny grass

After a few miles of beautiful forest, the sky opens up and Big Hole, Montana emerges in her total splendor. I had seen Big Sky Country years before when I lived in Alberta, Canada. However, this place took my breath away and after reading a few other riders stories, I see that they too were awe struck. Pure silence, other than the tailwind and moo of one of the million cows in this huge bowl. This place was beautiful. Those cows must be real tasty.

COWBOY COMING THROUGH

As I approached Wisdom with plenty of daylight, I knew that I would be staying the night here and I am plenty happy I did. Once again, the approach into town on my bike made me feel like a cowboy. Got off my ride in town and went into a rather nice restaurant with the click and clack from my cleats on the wooden floor. Asked the bar keep for a beer and a whiskey. She said she can give me a beer but the whiskey I would have to go across the street. Across the dirt road I go to the small pizza place and order a whiskey to go. Yeehaaaa! So like a cowboy eh! Walking my stiff drink back, I see DBR pulling in to town and he joins me at the bar for a meal. I order some ribs and he gets the prairie oysters. DBR would finish my ribs. Got the last room in town at the little motel. And went back to the pizza place as other riders started to pull into town. The blond guy on the left watching TV, gave me a nod as if he knew me. I would know more of him tomorrow.

And then we were six or seven riders all having plenty of beers and a few whiskeys. Russel, Aaron, Mike, Jen, the guy in the green jacket, DBR + ?. Sorry if I can't recall your presence that special night. These few hours would be my favourite of the trip. As we were starting to pack up for the night Arron and Green jacket decide to bike on for another 18 miles to Jackson (pop. 38). Wow those guys are really tough or very foolish. More power to you guys.

Plugged all my gear, took a shower and dried with the towels that did not say "to be used only to clean your weapons". Good night Wisdom. Only 112 miles today but happy.

bottom of page