top of page

DAY FIVE - warm-up is over


The day got started pretty early. About 0400 hrs something was splashing a-plenty in the water nearby. Being a Canadian, all I could think was it was either a moose eating the water grasses or a bear scooping up fish. Never did see what it was, but the water splashes kept on going until I got up... extra early. Good thing too, because I needed to cover some distance today.

As I mentioned on Day ONE, I rationalized that I might as well call the first five days "training" for the TABR. So today was the last day to train. My legs didn't have as many muscle aches anymore, however my rump was getting worse and a little throat itch was lingering. I had felt a tinny scratch back in Astoria, but pushed it out of my mind. This was not the time to have a cold, it will just have to wait three weeks or so.

With a sense of purpose in the hills of Idaho and enjoying the cool air, I started my day up a big hill to Cambridge 23 miles away for breaky. As I started the 2000' climb, I passed some nice looking huts about two miles from where I camped. Why didn't I know about these places? I saw a bike outside of one the huts. That rider had a nice sleep, I said in my head. However, I was also happy with my little camping test regardless that it was really short.

The weather was great and maybe four cars passed me in the three hours it took to get to Cambridge. Was it Sunday? I realized that I wasn't really sure what day of the week it was. Back to the weather. She would become a serious factor in the days to come and there was evidence that something was coming our way. That big system approaching the West coast would be moving over us in a few days

Made it into Cambridge to have the company of David Barstow Robinson, DBR from now on, for a big breakfast. For some reason, I still was not able to finish my plate. DBR, on the other hand seemed to have no problem. He had curled up in a post office around 2300 hrs the night before. So, you can sleep in post office, good to know. I will surely keep this new information in mind.

Equipment failure on my shoes was pissing me off. I could not tighten or loosen as the ratchet wheel had fallen off a few days earlier but, once in a while it would click tighter. I could still slip my foot in and out however, the fit would be lose. Maybe some pliers were in my future to cut foot out if need be.

No bike shops for 100s miles out here and I doubt they had this shoe. I emailed the store where I bought them in Delaware to have them ship me a new pair. No answer...strange, Howard from Bike Line normally answers within the hour. Later I would find out that TREK had just bought them out and had switched the contact information for all their employees and stores. These shoes would have to last me the trip.

The ride that day was very nice. The temperature did not climb to high like the previous days, the air was not as dry and the scenery, once again, was amazing. The next few days would be marked by the company of big strong rivers along the majority of the course.

These streams would offer nice places to dip my feet into and fill up water bottles. The day was going great. As I approached the tiny town of White Bird, pop. 91, there was still plenty of daylight and I decided to go into the only bar in town. And about half the town was in there with me. The place was a bustle of conversation crossing from one table to an other. Teasing and ranting going on with abandon. Was it Happy Hour, sure felt like it. I had a beer at the bar while I watched seven guys try to install an AC window unit on one of the wall openings -- it was hilarious. Talked to the bartender/owner as one does when you are an out of towner. Started another beer as the AC was finally shoved into place. I would have had many more, but there was a climb of 2500' to get over before Grangeville. I really did not want to leave.

Took a quick look at the Trackleader and saw about four riders were approaching my location. Better get a move on buddy... this is a race after all.

The climb was a beautiful, narrow, windy road with free roaming cows. There were about three other riders spread apart along the many miles of curves. I made a hard push to catch up to one of them. Nothing doing, these riders were strong hill climbers. Somebody even passed me at one point, I think.

The climb took forever it seemed and daylight was almost gone by the time I reached the top. Trying to hurry up a little I missed a sharp turn and went down Hwy 95 for a mile or two. Turned around and got back on track to find out that the hill climb wasn't over yet. Grangeville was still 10 miles away. Finally, coming down the back side towards the far away lights, in the dark, the ride became fast with twisting roads. Found a cheap motel, walked in my bike shoes to the closest gas station, bought a bunch of junk and ate it in my room. I was tired but happy. Peddled 150 miles that day and almost the same the day before. I guess thats how its going to be.

bottom of page