top of page

TABR 2017 Day 4 -- First Heat-Stroke, First State Crossing


The ground was crunchy with frost on Day 4. Very happy to have reached Austin Junction and that trailer. Somebody poked his head in the trailer to try to wake the other guests who weren't ready to get up. Obviously this guy had slept outside and probably froze a little and was ready to get moving. I took this as my cue and quickly got dressed, wiped the frost of my seat and set off before anybody else in the dawn air. Evidently, two people did sleep on the front porch of the house. I hope they got some sleep -- One of them was Russell the Scot. Being a strong rider, he would pass me convincingly in a few hours. 54 miles and two quick passes of 1000' to the next town, Baker City and breakfast. Happily, I ate my two remaining sandwiches that I bought the night before during that ride.

The scenery was amazing and there was nobody to share it with. Saw plenty of deer that barely gave me a second look. And just like the decent from McKenzie pass, the temperature began to rise as the air got dry. This is called Adiabatic effect. As the air drops over the mountains it gains pressure that creates heat and the air warms up. The air also looses any moisture it has.

I only saw one rider, Russell, by the time I reached Baker City. Friendly place, with many signs of a cowboy heritage. I stretched my gear out on a table and waited about 45 min for breakfast. When I got there, around 10, the cook had still not arrived. I was hungry and I wasn't going to change places. Three cups of coffee later I was rewarded.

The town was pretty quiet, but everybody seemed to say hi when they saw you. These two older guys asked me about what I was doing. They laughed and compared some 10 mile ride one of them had down a few years back to show that he understood what I was feeling . Ha ha. Also they mentioned not to get off the road because of the "bad" snakes.

One more thing before leaving Baker, I need a new long sleeve fleece. I would lose many pieces of clothing as they fell off the back of my bike. Those bungee cords didn't do their job very well.

NOW IT GETS HOT

As soon as you get out of Baker, the world ends. Fields everywhere, with snakes. Although I didn't see any

But it was sooooo hot, and the stream that seemed to follow the course most of the way Richland looked so inviting. So I took the plunge - twice. Helmet, shoes and all -- the best way to get all the grime off. However, that was not enough to keep the heat out of my body and, by the time I rolled in for a late lunch in Richland, I was not feeling very well. Slithered, like a sick lizard, into one of the few AC establishments and, like a cowboy, straddled a stool at the bar and ordered a cold beer. Boy, did it taste good and the second one, too, and the two glasses of water; and still no urge to visit the loo. I must have totally miscalculated my hydration that day. Some back and forth texting with my wife helped me get off that stool and tackle the hill to get out of that area and into the next valley and the town of Oxbow. That Richland hill, not really big, was steep and I had to stop several times and pretend to watch the view as I tried to pump energy back into my legs, body and will. A pack bikers (with engines) stoped close by and offered some beers. They were all so happy - I wished I was in that happy place.

RESERVOIR DOGS

Water everywhere and nothing to drink. Once again I ran out of water amazingly fast as I approached the Browniee Reservoir. I had stupidly not stopped at the only gas station just before Oxbow. The hill speed was so nice that I just kept going as I passed Mark Croker.

Night was falling and I already knew that sleeping arrangements might be an adventure tonight. At least the temperature here wasn't forecasted to drop down to freezing. I think Mark Croker passed me along this stretch, but can't really be sure. If I don't have a picture, it didn't happen.

Crossing the first State border was a big boost to my mood. And, receiving three water bottles from a couple of car travelers was even better. It would have been a long and very steep and rocky climb down to get reservoir water to drink.

In the background are my bike angels of the day. Now to find a place to rest, because I was NOT going to tackle the 2000' pass straight ahead. The map showed some camp grounds six miles up along the Idaho side of the reservoir, just before the pass climb starts.

I found the campsite. Tonight I camp, but not at the regular place. Tonight I sleep on the reservoir shore under this tree. I was actually excited about the prospect. Cleaned up at the camp bathrooms and under the cover of dusk with no lights, I slipped under this tree branch. Just when I was all settled in my nest, I see a flashlight shining around and it eventually settles on me. A deer in headlights... Hi camp guard! "What are you doing there!" he says. " I'm just catching a few hours of rest then I'll bike off before anybody awakens," I said. "Well ....OK, but dont tell any other bikes, because this is not allowed." "Yes sir and thank you." I said, "Good Night" in my most friendly voice. It was a good sleep until... day Five.

bottom of page